Tarlac Milo Marathon Update

My kids were home before lunchtime tired & hungry. They headed to bed complaining muscle pains. I knew this lol!

I was laughing out loud hearing their stories about the Marathon. Jessica arrived at the starting point, which is infront of Tarlac City Hall. The total participants according to them were more than 12 thousand on different categories, 21k; 5k; 3k & cheerdance competition. More than 50% were students from Tarlac State University, this is where my eldest daughter Jessica and my niece Jane were studying. According to Jessica, she was at the first line because she was one of those early riser.
She was so excited, on her feet ready to take off but when she heard the big bang she hardly remember what happened. She find herself kissing the pavement lol! together with almost a hundred who were pushed by the runners behind them. She said it was like a stampede but she gather all her strength to stand up and run fast. It was her first time in this kind of activity. She has many bruises on her elbow when she got home, her jogging pants was torn on the knee part but she was laughing at herself while narrating what happened. But she said proudly that she managed to reach the finished line in 32 minutes. According to record  at nestle.com.ph she’s no. 481 out of almost 5,000 runners… Hmmm, not bad for a  starter 🙂 very good anak! Keep it up!! That was a 5 kilometer run and she handed me the certificate.  Jane had managed to reached the finished line in 40 minutes .  Tarlac State University bagged most of the prizes on different categories.

My daughter Sabrina who is in her 5th grade was more happy and proud that they won the 2nd Place in Cheerdance Competition. According to her, it was a very tight fight. I was glad seeing the lights shone in her eyes. Her everyday practice prior to that event has paid off and shes looking forward for their next competition, The Aro Cup sponsored by the Mayor of Tarlac City, Aro Mendoza. How I wish I was there to take the pictures but I have a small son to attend to, and since they are all there, I can do nothing but to stay home and wait for their news.

I am glad and proud of my kids. I am doing all I can to support their activities although life in the Philippines nowadays is very hard. We’re surviving the unstoppable Oil Price Hikes that triggers price increases in basic commodities and services making us to tighten up our belt to make both ends meet.

I just wish we can survive all these and hope that the Government will be sensitive enough for the needs of the common people.

One comment on “Tarlac Milo Marathon Update

Leave a Reply

