File Back-ups and Bookmarks

This is related to my previous post about Hackers and Virus attacks

Because I had encountered a problem with my PC, I am still in a start up stage. Meaning, installing programs, toolbars, utilities, categorizing my recovered files, backing up, creating restore point, etc… and everything I need to work comfortably.

I can’t remember when was the last time I formatted my PC because of a virus problem. My files had been intact for almost 10 years until that horrible experience. Yes, I upgraded my PC and even bought a new one but then, its not big deal since I have my files in my back up drive and all I need for installation; drivers, programs and utilities are all intact. I even have a complete list of links of important websites that I need in case I need support. Although, its really hard to start again because I have deadlines to cope up with, I am taking this time to share with you what I had learned from this experience.

Back up your Files

As I mentioned in my last post regarding hacker and virus attacks, backing up your files is very important. Yes, I also have a back-up drive for my files but what I learned now is that it’s not enough. Why? Backing up your file in USB drive or extra hard disk is not safe. Since it’s a rewritable storage device, it can be infected with a virus, worst, files can be deleted or modified.

Now I do recommend to back-up your file by burning them in a high quality CD and make at least 2 copies. One for safekeeping, meaning you can keep it in a safe cabinet in case you lost the duplicate that you’re using from time to time. The files that are ideals for CD burn are important videos especially those family gatherings and special events, Audio files, Pictures, Programs, Utilities, drivers and downloaded programs, games etc… For a designer like me, you also have to back up your designs, formats, forms, logos and other important things that you need in your daily activity as a designer. I

Protect your passwords

Important links, bookmarks and passwords are also important. You must have a back up copy of these because if you have many accounts, there is a tendency that you may forget those. But be sure to keep it in a very safe place or maybe encrypt it. What I did is that I created my own alphabet and numbers only known to me and my hub and I am using it when writing confidential files and passwords. You can do it by learning a Fontography program so you can upload your secret files and password without any fear that somebody might steal it. I included a search link for you for easy start.

Bookmarks are also important

I have a document file of very important links that I need and categorized it according to their use. Say, IT  Links, when I need to look for IT resources, Money online Links for earning purpose, Social Networking Links, Blog Links, Download Links for games, programs, patches, drivers and utilities etc.. you can also burn it in a CD and save it in yahoo bookmark, delicious, google bookmarks etc.. There are many websites offering a bookmarking service. Just google it to find what is suits you best or you may  click here for Top 30 Bookmarking sites.

File Sharing

Files can also be save in the internet in case you don’t have the necessary space. In fact you can also share your documents, files, photos and pictures. There are many Photo sharing sites for your pictures. Picasa, Flicker and Photo Bucket are just one of the many websites offering this service. WordPress is giving you 3gig photo space, one of the reason why I moved my blog here.

Of course, videos can be saved anywhere, and mine are placed in YouTube. I am also a google fanatic and I am using most of their services, Gmail, You Tube, Reader, Blogger, Orkut, etc..  I am using Google document for my word and spreadsheet files. It’s very important especially when you’re working online. Since I am writing articles and fun quizzes for some websites, the documents are shared between me and my collaborators like my employer, their managers and editors who will check the document before I submit it. Your word and spreadsheet documents can be uploaded to google document and you can share it to anybody without having to send it as attachment. If you have a gmail acount, you can use that for all google services. To see all google services, click here…

That’s all for now folks, I hope this discussion will help you somehow. Just ping me for your questions. See you in my next post 🙂

2 comments on “File Back-ups and Bookmarks

  1. Pingback: File Back-ups and Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

